Manageability in Preproduction

With midterms having come and gone (including a bottle of Pinot Grigio) there is a lot less weight on my shoulders concerning my classes going into next week. There hasn’t been much progress this week, with midterms going on and other classes needing attention, but I did make progress!

I should note that, since downgrading my Capstone, the entire project has become a lot more manageable with my schedule along with there being fewer negative thoughts about my inability to complete everything on time.

Since having downgraded, I had redone my project timeline first since it was the most pertinent towards the rest of the semester. The loose timeline is to have the finalized draft done by the end of October and to complete the storyboards by the end of November. I should place an Asterix on the storyboards because Capstone presentations are going to take place before the storyboards will be completed. This is important because I am going to present a completed animatic of a scene during my presentation, therefore it needs to be in a presentable state to a general audience.

Getting to the progress update at hand, I was able to get another draft of the script completed and will be doing a read of the script done with a few friends of mine over the upcoming week. Reading aloud the script with people should, theoretically, give new insights into changes needing to be made.

There was also free software that should help me with storyboarding called Storyboarder made by Wonder Unit. I am still tooling around with the software, but it should still work with the needs of my project – I already noticed that there is an export feature that turns the storyboards into a video, I am going to have to try that at some point.

Leave a comment