New Semester, New Updates on Short Film Project

With August gone and September now upon us, it is extremely nerve-wracking for students who are going back to school and getting back into the rhythm of attending classes. I am one of those students, currently in my final semester of college. Yay!

With that comes the dreaded end of college experience: Capstone.

As you were able to infer from the blog title, my capstone project is a short film that is currently in preproduction. I am currently polishing up the script, and will be casting actors, scouting locations, and creating the shooting schedule over the next few weeks.

The Script

Over the summer, I had gotten a decent hold on my script. It still needs a bit of revision, I have already gone through editing some of the script, but I need to write two or three new scenes and add additional dialogue in the second half. Progress is slow because I am limited as to when I can make progress, as I cannot afford to buy Final Draft and the computers that have the software are also used for classes.

Casting Actors

I’m going to be looking for actors over the next week or two, as I have been primarily focused on other classwork and getting the script in order. This is going to be a larger casting net of around 11 actors given current size of production staff (largely being me and a few friends to help with costuming and make-up). I have already made a poster design to advertise that I have casting available, the posters just need to be hung up on bulletin boards around campus.

Location Scouting

Finding locations is going to be one of the harder aspects of pre-production since I must go through the process of getting permission from owners to film the location. And because I’m still refining the script, this is going to be pushed on the back-burner until those changes can be made. This is due to wanting the script to be finalized before I start going through the process of filling out paperwork, since I don’t want to waste time finding new locations after old locations were deemed unusable due to rewrites.

Shooting Schedule

The shooting schedule is going to be created after I have all my actors with when they are available to film. I do have filming slated for October because there is a time crunch in November, with capstone presentations being given the first Monday after Thanksgiving Break.

Leave a comment